Skip to content

Chicken Broccoli Rice Bake

March 9, 2014

My husband really enjoys this dish I made up one day.  I’m putting it on the blog so that he can reference it sometime in the next few weeks to make for us. (We have this deal: I’ll feed the baby, you feed me. =)  I am thinking about making it again this week but trying it with a replacement I found for cream of chicken soup.  I think it’ll be interesting to see what adding a little more moisture does to the dish.  It really is good as-is, though!  Hope you enjoy.  (Sorry, I don’t have a picture right now)

2 Chicken breasts

1 cup uncooked basmati rice

2 cups low-fodmap chicken broth

1 bunch of broccoli

3/4 cup Parmesan cheese

Salt & Pepper to taste

  1. Cook rice by combining 1 cup of uncooked basmati rice and 2 cups of chicken broth in a small saucepan.  Bring to a boil, add lid, then reduce to (super) low.  Let simmer for 15-20 minutes. (I’ll remove it from heat around 10 minutes and let it sit undisturbed on the hot electric stovetop coils until 20 minutes).
  2. Turn your Broiler on high.  Let preheat.
  3. While rice is cooking, cook chicken in a skillet.  Season with salt & pepper to taste.  When cooked thoroughly, remove from heat, let cool slightly, cut into chunks and set aside.
  4. Chop broccoli into bit-sized pieces.  Steam for 2-3 minutes (don’t cook it fully.  It’ll cook more in the oven).  Set aside.
  5. When rice is ready, combine rice, chicken, broccoli, salt & pepper, and half the Parmesan cheese in an oblong 8×10 pyrex dish.  Top with remaining parmesan cheese.
  6. Place dish under the broiler until the cheese is melty and slightly browned.  Let cool, Enjoy!

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a comment