Skip to content

Low Fodmap Chicken Quesadillas

March 9, 2014

For me, the key to surviving on Low Fodmap is finding ways to make my favorite foods that I used to enjoy before.  I love Mexican food!  I’ve been making these a lot lately with Kyle because they are pretty low-maintenance and I have been rather unmotivated to cook in my third trimester.

1 chicken breast
Salt & Pepper to taste
1/2 cup Trader Joe’s Frozen Pepper Blend
4 Corn Tortillas
1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese (or your preference of quesadilla cheese)

Optional toppings:

Cilantro Sour Cream:
1/4 cup Sour Cream or Plain Greek Yogurt
1 T. chopped fresh cilantro

Guacamole:
1 Avocado (if tolerable to you on Low Fodmap)
1 t. garlic-infused olive oil
The juice from 1/2 of a fresh lime
salt & pepper to taste

  1. In a large skillet, cook chicken breast.  Season with salt & pepper to taste.  Cut into strips & set aside.
  2. Spray skillet with some oil, sauté pepper blend (no onions!) on Medium-high heat.  Set aside once browned.
  3. Spray skillet with some oil again, add corn tortillas.  As tortilla heats, arrange cooked peppers, chicken, and mozzarella cheese to your preferences.
  4. Once the cheese is melty, fold the tortillas in half (or on top of each other).  Let it warm 30 seconds-1 minute more.  Remove from heat.
  5. For cilantro sour cream, simply combine the ingredients and enjoy.  (I don’t always have sour cream on hand, but I have found that plain greek yogurt tastes almost exactly the same!  Just don’t let yourself remember that you are putting yogurt on your quesadilla if that’s weird to you.)
  6. For guacamole:  Core avocado and place into a small dish.  Add the remaining ingredients.  (In my opinion, the lime really does need to be fresh.)  WARNING: some people are not bothered by a little bit of avocado on Low Fodmap, others are very bothered by it.  Be careful if you choose to try some guacamole!  I, personally, can only have a very little bit.

I love that I can buy this in the store!  There are no onions in this pepper blend which makes it very convenient for us!…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

