Skip to content

Sauteed Green Beans & Carrots with Browned Butter Lemon Sauce

March 7, 2014

Green Beans are one of my favorite Low Fodmap veggies.  And I’ve been pleased to find a few different ways to prepare them.  I’m also pleased to say that I enjoy

Trader Joe’s Frozen French Cut Green Beans.  It’s great to always have a vegetable available to prepare for dinner.  And, in my experience, these green beans cook up much better than any other frozen veggie I’ve tried.  I highly recommend you checking them out and keeping them on hand!

Here is my favorite way to prepare green beans (frozen or fresh!)

Sauteed Green Beans & Carrots with Browned Butter Lemon Sauce

1-2 cups Green Beans, trimmed
1 cup baby carrots, halved lengthwise
garlic-infused olive oil (or any oil)
salt & pepper to taste
2 T. butter
1 T. lemon juice

  1. Trim Green Beans, cut carrots, set aside.
  2. Heat oil in a large 12-inch skillet on medium-high heat
  3. Add carrots, toss to coat in oil.  Let cook 1 minute
  4. Add green beans, toss to coat.  Cook until both veggies are tender (and I like mine slightly burnt so I often kick up the heat)
  5. While cooking, add salt & pepper to taste.
  6. When cooked, remove veggies, set aside.
  7. Turn heat down to Medium-low.  Add butter to the skillet, watch it carefully.  When it starts to brown (not burn!), add lemon juice.  It will sizzle.
  8. Add veggies back to skillet, toss to coat.  Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

