Skip to content

Low Fodmap Homemade Chicken Broth

April 12, 2012

EVERY brand of Chicken broth in the store–natural, organic, value, whatever–has onion or garlic powder in it!  GR!  This is a problem since I make sauces with my chicken dishes at least once a week.  So I decided to make my own broth, freeze it in ice cube trays, and have it ready for me.

  • 1 Whole Chicken (or any bone-in Chicken. I’ve also used 6 bone-in thighs)
  • 3 whole carrots (or an equivalent amount of baby carrots)
  • Any other miscellaneous Low Fodmap vegetable for an “aromatic” effect
    • (I’ve used 3 large swiss chard stalks, a handful of chive greens from my garden, 1 whole potato cut into chunks, the green-part only from a bunch of scallions/green onions from the grocery store, even broccoli stems–although this can turn the broth a funkier color.  Feel free to use any veggie on the “OK” section of this list.)
  • 3-4 t. Dired Herbs (Basil, Oregano, and Thyme are good options)
  • 2 Bay Leaves (optional)
  • 2 t. salt
  • 1 t. black pepper

Directions:

  1. Place the Chicken in a crock-pot (or a large stock pot or dutch oven). Cover chicken with water.
  2. Cut carrots (& any other veggies)  so that they fit in the pot.
  3. Add dried herbs, bay leaves, salt & pepper.  I used about 1-2 t. each of basil, oregano, and parsley and a dash of rosemary and thyme.  Tip:  Some ppl put the spices in a tea ball or a cheese cloth satchel for easier straining/removal later.
  4. Turn crock-pot on low.  (For a stock pot, bring water to a boil, then reduce to a simmer)  (Feel free to leave  your crock pot overnight when set to Low.)
  5. When chicken is cooked (about 5-7 hours on low, 2-3 hours on high), remove chicken.  Let chicken cool.  Leave the crock-pot on (with lid on) while chicken is cooling.
  6. When cool enough to handle, remove chicken meat from the bones and set meat aside in the fridge.  (Chop for use in chicken noodle soup)
  7. Put the bones back in the pot and let stock cook for about 6 more hours on low. (Less if you’re getting impatient)
  8. Strain through a siv or strainer.  Refrigerate or freeze in tupperware or freeze in ice cube trays and transfer to a plastic bag later.

 I got the idea from this site. (Don’t use onions like the picture shows!  She was not making Low Fodmap stock)

17 Comments leave one →
  1. kat permalink
    July 14, 2012 11:32 am

    hi, what do you do with the shredded chicken meat? Do you put it back into the broth at the end?
    Thanks for the great recipe

    • July 15, 2012 3:32 pm

      You could! That would make a very tasty chicken noodle soup or something. Or, I shred it and put it in another recipe. Yesterday I shredded chicken to put in a Roasted Carrot & Sun-dried tomato soup.

  2. December 8, 2012 3:17 am

    Love your site! It’s been very helpful as I think my husband needs to go low-fodmap. I am thankful that there are other people who have charted this territory ahead of me 🙂

    In Christ,
    Chris

    • December 8, 2012 6:53 pm

      Thanks Chris! I’m glad it’s been helpful. I hope the diet goes well for you guys! Blessings

  3. December 19, 2013 7:10 am

    why do u put them in cube trays? my mind automatically thinks, concentrated. so, one cube equals what?

    • February 4, 2014 2:02 am

      I put them in cube trays because I like to make gravy with my chicken dishes sometimes which calls for a little bit of chicken broth. This way I don’t need to defrost a large tupperware of broth. I’m not sure what you’re asking about the concentration– it’s not very concentrated.

Trackbacks

  1. Crock Pot Stuffed Peppers « Thrifty Kitchen
  2. Low Fodmap Homestyle Potato Soup « Thrifty Kitchen
  3. Creamy Tomato & Basil Soup « Thrifty Kitchen
  4. Low Fodmap Chicken Noodle Soup | Thrifty Kitchen
  5. [K's Faves] Crock Pot Rotisserie Chicken | The Adventures of Z & K
  6. Go-to Chicken method | Thrifty Kitchen
  7. Chicken Broccoli Rice Bake | Thrifty Kitchen
  8. Chicken and Basil Rice Bowl with Cashews | Thrifty Kitchen
  9. Low-FODMAP Chicken Stock | christinalate

Leave a Reply

