Skip to content

The BEST Low Fodmap Macaroni & Cheese!

February 23, 2013

Welp, I have done it.  I have absolutely done it!  After months of trying different techniques and recipes for homemade macaroni & cheese and changing around recipes to my liking… I have found THE ONE!!!  I adapted a Martha Stewart recipe and the secret is….. ROUX!  The secret to the perfect macaroni & cheese recipe is a roux.  (Did some of you know this and just not tell me?)  Anywho– here is what I tried tonight and I LOVED it!

ft066_maccheese4.jpg

(originial recipe by Martha Stewart here, photo credit to marthastewart.com)

Makes 1 large serving – or 2 moderate servings

1 T. butter
2/3 cups lactose-free milk
1 T. spelt flour
1/4 t. salt
black pepper to your taste
1 cup of grated cheese (I did cheddar & parmesan)
4 oz. Gluten Free pasta (trader joe’s has corn & rice pasta for $1.49-$1.99 a lb)

  1. Heat milk in a small saucepan set over medium heat.
  2. Melt the butter in a different small saucepan over medium heat. When butter bubbles, add flour. Cook, stirring, 1 minute. (If you only have one saucepan, heat the milk in a small skillet)
  3. Slowly pour hot milk into flour-butter mixture while whisking. Continue cooking, whisking constantly, until the mixture bubbles and becomes thick.
  4.  Remove the pan from the heat. Stir in salt, black pepper, and cheese. Set cheese sauce aside to cool slightly.
  5. Cook pasta & drain.  Add pasta back into the saucepan you boiled it in.  Add cheese sauce to taste.
  6. If you’d like, pour the mixture into the prepared casserole dish. Sprinkle with 1/4 cup cheese; scatter GF breadcrumbs over the top. Bake at 375 until browned on top, about 20 minutes. Transfer dish to a wire rack to cool for 5 minutes; serve.  (I ate mine without baking it in the oven)

Please let me know how this goes for you and if you enjoy it!  Isn’t it great how the cheese sauce is not stringy or clumpy like so many macaroni & cheese recipes that are made with real cheese?  It’s totally the roux!  I will never again make a cheese sauce without a roux!  =)

15 Comments leave one →
  1. Elle Preston permalink
    February 23, 2013 4:11 pm

    Hi there. I have been following your blog for some time now and I wondered if you wouldn’t mind speaking with me privately about FODMAP diet challenges. I live in Ann Arbor and also eat a modified FODMAP diet. I am a business owner and a chef, looking to improve access to information, patient compliance on the diet and also better social support around the challenges FODMAP dieters face daily. This is not a weird business solicitation I promise. However, I will ask questions that may help improve what business’ in A2 are offering FODMAP eaters. Here is my email: e.preston2011@gmail.com

    Thank you for your fun blog and recipes!! Your blog gave me a local face to turn to when I also went searching for information. : )

    • erin permalink
      June 26, 2013 5:01 pm

      I don’t know you, Elle, but my ears perk up when I hear of someone in A2 wanting to cater to low FODMAP customers. I am a low FODMAP vegetarian who has basically stopped eating out. If you own a restaurant, I would love to give you my business when I am in the city. Is that the case or do you run a catering business?

  2. Casie Timmons permalink
    May 23, 2013 12:33 am

    delicious. tripled the recipe and added diced ham. used a mixed cheddar blend…perfect.

    • May 23, 2013 1:31 am

      I’m so glad you liked it, Casie!!! Adding diced ham sounds awesome.

    • September 16, 2015 5:33 pm

      me too casie…AND onions (which I add to almost everything except hot cocoa or iced tea). Fabulous. Next time I might make enough to share (or not). the second time I used what cheese was in the frig…which was a mixture of small pieces of this and that…and it was still fabulous. the key is the roux!

  3. Jill Kloos permalink
    August 12, 2013 7:29 pm

    Really good recipe, thanks! We are new to low Fodmap cooking/eating so this was a nice “normal” meal to have. I used medium cheddar and parm. Next time I am going to use sharp or extra sharp for more flavor. Thank you!

  4. Karen permalink
    September 29, 2013 10:55 pm

    Going to give this recipe a try. I do love mac and cheese!

  5. November 27, 2014 2:51 am

    This is the way my mom taught me to make baked macaroni and cheese, starting with a roux. My 87-yr old father is now low-fodmap, and I was wondering if I could use the regular recipe, but with rice pasta, and lactose-free milk, and a substitute flour as the thickening agent. So I looked around online and found your blog. I am happy for the confirmation that I can make it low-fodmap. Thanks!

  6. Meaghan permalink
    May 26, 2015 7:55 pm

    Do you know if using a gluten free flour will be the same and which kind? I would love to make this, just learning about gluten free and fodmap

    • May 26, 2015 9:30 pm

      Great question. I don’t see why any one of them wouldn’t thicken. Has anyone else had success with this? It’s worth a shot!

  7. Andrea permalink
    May 29, 2015 1:53 am

    Hi, I feel very silly asking this , but can you explain ” Roux” please. Never heard of this before. Thank- you Andrea

    • October 1, 2015 2:13 am

      Hi Andrea, yes that is a great question! Roux is a french word, pronouced “roo.” It is when you cook butter and flour together and add cream, usually. From what I understand, it is a technique for thickening many sauces in french cooking.

  8. sympatichna permalink
    August 25, 2015 12:42 am

    I’ve used a white sauce base for my mac and cheese for YEARS! With FODMAP becoming a necessity for my daughter recently, I’m so happy to see that I can still make it that way. Mac and cheese is one of her favorite foods, and she hasn’t had it in a LONG time, as we were trying to figure out the belly pain. Anyway–I love to add a sprinkling of ground mustard (dry) to the sauce. It gives it just a tiny kick, without making it taste like mustard.

  9. September 30, 2015 10:30 pm

    Made this for dinner tonight put chunks of ham in it, and it’s amazing..My boyfriend is on a lactose and gluten free diet..finding recipes for both free is hard..thank you for sharing

  10. Jessica permalink
    January 17, 2016 2:00 am

    I used brown rice flour in place of the gluten free flour because it was all I had. It turned out great! Thank you for this recipe. I’ll definitely be making this again!

Leave a Reply

