Skip to content

Low Fodmap Greek Pasta Salad

August 16, 2012

Low Fodmap Recipe Overhaul

original recipe here

School is starting, and for me that means I’m about to get really busy (I work with college students.)  So, I’m packing our fridge full of low fodmap friendly quick meals.  Here’s one I made today that will definitely become a staple in our house!

Changes form the original recipe are in Italics (additions made by me) and strikeout (high fodmap ingredients you should avoid)

  • 1/2 cup garlic-infused or plain olive oil
  • 1/2 cup red wine vinegar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons garlic powder (This is why I used garlic infused olive oil)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons dried basil
    • I used 2 T. fresh from my garden
  • 3/4 teaspoons dried oregano
  • 2 T. chopped fresh mint
    • Optional.  I have so much in my garden!
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 3/4 teaspoon white sugar
  • 9 oz. dry Rice Pasta (aprox. 3-4 cups cooked)
    • I used Trader Joe’s Rice Rotini. This is not the best rice pasta on it’s own, but it is the cheapest out there, at $1.99 for 16 oz, and works perfectly for this recipe.
  • 3 cups fresh sliced mushrooms
  • 15 cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 1 cup sliced red bell peppers
  • 3/4 cup crumbled feta cheese
  • 1/2 cup chopped green onions
    • Optional.  If you use them, use the green part only or use 2 T. chives
  • 3/4 cup diced cucumber
    • Optional.  I wanted more crunch.
  • 1 (4 ounce) can whole black olives
    • I omited this because my husband hates olives (I love them!)
  • 3/4 cup sliced pepperoni sausage, cut into strips
    • I used 1 oz. (aprox. 5 slices) deli salami, cut in strips b/c it’s what I had on hand

In a large bowl, whisk together olive oil, vinegar, garlic powder, basil, oregano, black pepper, and sugar. Add cool cooked pasta, mushrooms, tomatoes, red peppers, feta cheese, green onions, olives, and pepperoni. Toss until evenly coated. Cover, and chill 2 hours or overnight.

Tip #1: I put the garlic-infused olive oil, vinegar, spices and sugar in my mini food processor and blended them until the spices were as small as I wanted them (because I used fresh) before pour it into a tuperware with the pasta.  This also helped to keep the oil and vinegar incorporated while I mixed it with the pasta.

Tip #2:  Soak your rice pasta before adding it to the boiling water to remove excess starch.  If you do this, you might want to take 1 minute off the cooking time.  Then, when it’s done cooking, rinse it with cold water in the collander to stop it from cooking, sticking together, or getting that gooey texture that rice pasta sometimes gets.  (I was always taught never to rinse your pasta, but rice pasta is already so void of nutrients, who cares, right?)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Karen permalink
    September 29, 2013 10:58 pm

    I will enjoy making this recipe. I’d probably use corn or quinoa pasta instead. The rice pasta is always so WHITE and limp. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Summer has officially hit Seattle! Here are 25 Summer-approved recipes. | Not From A Packet Mix

Leave a Reply

