Skip to content

No Fodmap Spice Mixes

July 15, 2012

Update July 30, 2012:  I’ve used these spice mixes a lot now and I really like them!

I altered some DIY seasoning mixes to make them no fodmap.  I also invested in Asafoetida Powder (or “Hing”) because it apparently tastes like onion & garlic but has absolutely no fodmaps!  But man-o-man, the stuff STINKS!  Make sure you keep it packaged away separately in a sandwich ziploc or something.  I bought mine from my bulk food store.  It was sold with the spices for $1.50 per little jar.  You can also find them at Indian & Asian food stores.  It may be called Hing.  The woman at the store said, “geez, people love this stuff, but it stinks!”  I took that as a good sign that I would enjoy the spice as well.

Here are some of the recipes I used.  So far I am very happy with them, but I will continue using them this week and let you know.

BBQ Coffee Rub:

  • 1/2 Cup Smoked Sweet Paprika
  • 1/4 Cup Kosher Salt
  • 1/2 Cup Dark Brown Sugar
  • 5 Tablespoons Whole Black Peppercorn, ground
  • 3 Tablespoons Espresso Coffee Beans, ground
    • I’m sure you could try your reg. ground coffee that you already have at home
  • 3 Tablespoons Dried Oregano
  • 1 Tablespoon Cayenne Pepper
  • 2 Teaspoons Asafoetida Powder
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Ground Cumin

Tuscan Herb Mix

  • 4 tablespoons dried basil
  • 4 tablespoons dried marjoram
  • 2 tablespoons oregano
  • 2 tablespoons thyme
  • 2 tablespoons rosemary
  • 1 tablespoons Asafoetida Powder
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne (opt.)

Mexican Seasoning

  • 3 T. chili powder
  • 2 T. ground cumin
  • 2 T. paprika
  • 2 T. dried oregano
  • 1 T. dried cilantro (opt)
  • 1 T. Asafoetida powder
  • 1 t. cayenne

Lemon Herb Sesoning

  • 4-5 T. dried lemon rind
  • 1 T. dried basil
  • 1 t. Asafoetida powder
  • 1 1/2 t. salt
  • 1/4 t. pepper

For low FODMAP cooking, I highly, highly encourage that you find a GOOD spice store.  Preferably one where you can buy spices by the weight.  In Ann Arbor, we have “By the Pound” on Main Street and Madison, or the Spice Merchant located upstairs in Kerrytown.  I found all these spices at By the Pound yesterday.  I was also very excited to find the dried chives!

25 Comments leave one →
  1. Heather permalink
    April 18, 2013 2:35 am

    Thank you for this post. I have recently had to go on the low FODMAP diet and I am severely missing my onion and garlic. It makes going gluten free years ago seem like a breeze! Keep up the recipes, I feel we have similar tastes!

  2. Susan permalink
    September 2, 2013 12:05 am

    Thanks from me too! Can’t wait to try these!!

    🙂 I’ve also had luck with some of Penzey’s spice mixes. And have you tried drying green onion greens and adding them to your recipes? It’s not too bad. I also put peeled garlic cloves in the blender with vodka (I’d do better with everclear, but it’s illegal here in CA), steep it for a few days, then strain it. Garlic extracts with no solids! Its worked well for me. 🙂

    • September 25, 2013 9:58 pm

      I’ve never heard of Penzey’s but I’ll have to check it out! I wonder about the garlic and vodka because the FODMAPs in garlic are water-soluble, so wouldn’t they seep into the Vodka? That’s why I’ve always done garlic-infused oil– the FODMAPs are not soluble in oil. So you get the favor without the FODMAP sugars. But it’s worth looking into to double check. Thanks for the post!

  3. Karen permalink
    September 29, 2013 11:15 pm

    Yes, I wonder about the garlic in vodka as well. Thanks for the spice mix recipes.
    I recently read that some Asafoetida powders are made with wheat flour. I bought mine from myspicesage.com last year and it says rice flour on the label so it’s safe, but I read they use wheat flour now. Make sure yours isn’t made with wheat flour.

  4. Marlene permalink
    December 10, 2013 1:18 pm

    Just a brief question did you manage to get Asafoedia powder free from WHEAT? Seems impossible to get a hold of here in Denmark…

    • December 13, 2013 4:30 pm

      Marlene, I wasn’t aware that there was wheat in any asafoedia products. I guess I’ll need to double check mine but I was informed that it was FODMAP safe so I never felt the need to double check.

      • Marlene permalink
        December 15, 2013 8:50 am

        I didn’t know either untill I did a bit of research but apparently, wheat is added to keep the powdery structure. I just got hold of a brand where fenusgreek is used instead of wheat. On the other hand I am not aware of how much it really will effect you as the quantities you use of asafoedia when cooking is so small…..

  5. Karen permalink
    December 13, 2013 4:39 pm

    I have the safe asafoetida powder. I put 1/4 tsp into a from scratch chicken soup I made, and it was delicious. Start with very small specks and work up to the right amount. Too much can ruin a dish as it’s so pungent.

  6. Claudia Salanta permalink
    January 19, 2014 5:28 pm

    Hi. You live in Ann Arbor, so do I! Cool! Recently I saw a gastro doctor at UofM and he recommended to me the FODMAP diet. I am a real newby at this. Doing a lot of research right now. You buy your spices from “By the pound” . I have been meaning to go there. Need to check it out. It was great finding your blog. Very helpful and the recipes look good. God Bless you and thanks!

    • February 4, 2014 2:05 am

      I’m so glad it was helpful for you! I need to get back at updating it! I hope you enjoy By the Pound!

  7. May 6, 2014 10:37 pm

    What’s Taking place i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this
    I’ve discovered It absolutely useful and it has helped me out loads.
    I am hoping to contribute & help different users like its aided me.
    Good job.

  8. Lasaundra permalink
    November 5, 2014 1:01 am

    What chili powder are you using? All that I can find have garlic and onion which are not low fodmap.

    • November 5, 2014 3:05 am

      I get my chili powder at a bulk food store where you buy spices by the oz. I’ve actually never seen onion or garlic in chili powder, I’m sorry that you’re having trouble!

  9. Jessica permalink
    February 18, 2015 1:31 am

    For the last two recipes, all you put is T…. is that tablespoons or teaspoons?

  10. March 22, 2015 4:32 pm

    I also recently started the Fodmap diet. I went to an Indian spice store to get the asafoetida powder. The merchant told me to never use the asafoetida powder raw because it would make you vomit. Is that true? LOL I walked out without buying because that kind of freaked me out.

  11. Tiffany permalink
    March 24, 2015 4:22 pm

    Does anyone know where you can find Asafoetida powder that has RICE flour instead of WHEAT? I just found it on ONE website and it was $10 a bottle PLUS $11 SHIPPING. Wow!

  12. Robin permalink
    April 22, 2015 8:13 pm

    Just found you when I googled ‘Fodmap free chili powder’. In the bulk food places I shop, all chili powder has onion and garlic….but that is not true for chile powder. I am thinking that is what you are using in the recipe above. Thanks…I will be checking in as I am new at this also.

  13. Steve Benson permalink
    June 18, 2015 11:08 pm

    Look up the alarming fructose content of paprika….you’re welcome

  14. August 14, 2015 9:25 pm

    What would you suggest using your spices for? E.g. Which do you use for chicken, pork, steak, fish, vegetables..etc. Also for your BBQ Coffee Rub what grind do you use for your espresso (aka espresso, turkish, paper, metal..etc.) Thanks!

    • October 1, 2015 2:06 am

      I use the Mexican spices on both chicken and ground beef. I use the Tuscan Herb on chicken, mostly. And I use a paprika, brown sugar, ginger rub on Salmon. My husband likes the BBQ rub on chicken on the grill. I wasn’t a huge fan of the dried chives since fresh chives are so great. I have used them on fish and it has been subtle but good. I also wasn’t a huge fan of the lemon herb mix simply because I wanted a little more kick to it. I did put it on fish and chicken.

Trackbacks

  1. Low Fodmap Chicken Noodle Soup | Thrifty Kitchen
  2. Thrifty Kitchen
  3. Meaty Pasta Casserole | Thrifty Kitchen
  4. Low FODmap lasagna - Mila's Little Things - low FODmap diet & IBS relief

Leave a comment