Skip to content

Homemade Cream-soup replacement

March 11, 2014

Are you sick of seeing recipes that call for “a can of Cream of Chicken soup”?  I am!  That stuff is not good for you, no matter who you are, AND it’s loaded with Fodmaps.  I’ve been meaning to try a replacement and I finally did tonight.  It turned out really well!  I plan on making more and freezing it so that it’s easy to use later.

Replacing Cream of Chicken Soup In Your Pantry-Cooking from Scratch

I found the original idea here, but I adapted it for Low Fodmap

1/4 cup butter

1/3 cup spelt flour

1 to 2 cups milk alternative

salt to taste

  1. In a small saucepan, melt the butter over medium-low heat.
  2. Stir in the spelt flour, whisking until it makes a thick paste. (I use a whisk with silicone to protect my pans)
  3. Add your liquid slowly, working it until the paste is absorbed.  Continue to add liquid until the sauce has reached the desired thickness, stirring often.  It will thicken as it simmers.
  • Instead of “milk,” consider using a mix of white wine and chicken broth.  That’s what I did for my Meaty Pasta Casserole and it turned out really well.  I used 1/2 cup of white wine and 1 1/2 cups of low-fodmap chicken broth.
Leave a Reply

