Skip to content

Go-to Chicken method

March 7, 2014

Before I started eating Low Fodmap, I posted about my go-to Chicken Technique.  I still serve us chicken all the time using this method, but it has obviously needed to change quite a bit since flour, garlic, and onion used to be a big part of it.  Here are some of the changes I’ve made to make the method still work for me on Low Fodmap.

(1) Coat Chicken

Put a few tablespoons of spelt flour into a cheap galon-size “ziploc” bag, place the chicken inside, SEAL, and shake. This coats the chicken. Discard the bag when done!

(2) Saute Chicken

Put some garlic-infused or regular olive oil in the skillet. Saute the chicken on both sides. No need to cook at the way through, you can cook more later. Remove the chicken from the skillet, set aside. (I put it onto a paper plate so I can throw out the paper plate later)

(3) Add a veggie

My go-to’s used to be sliced onions, mushrooms, and artichokes. But now I am very limited.  So, I’ll use the green-part only of green onions, broccoli, or green beans sometimes.  Brown the veggie, making sure to get plenty of those yummy brown bits onto the veggie. Don’t cook too long or just remove the veggie before the next step.

(4) Add liquid

You can just add Low Fodmap chicken broth if you like, but I like to FIRST de-glaze the pan with some wine or lemon juice. Whatever I have in the fridge is good. Scrape up some of those yummy brown bits with the wine. Let it sizzle and cook down for a min. Then, add Low Fodmap chicken broth. Put the chicken back into the pan and let it simmer for about 5-10 minutes more. (If you are using broccoli or green beans, remove them once they are al dente)

(5) Reduce the sauce

Remove the chicken from the pan. *Sift* some spelt flour into the sauce and wisk on med, to med-high heat. (Most the time I don’t sift because I’m to lazy to get it out, and I usually just grab a fork to wisk– but be careful to not scrape your skillet!) Cook over heat until the sauce thickens. Pour over chicken. Enjoy!

Surprisingly, Kyle’s favorite dinners are when I do this. And it’s different everytime!  Just make sure you taste the “gravy” before serving it.  Sometimes it needs some salt (or even sugar), depending.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

