Skip to content

giving Kinnikinnick’s some love

December 20, 2012

I’ve learned from fellow wheat-free friends that their favorite Gluten Free Bread is Rudi’s (about $5 for 12 oz. at Trader Joe’s).  Not every bread in Rudi’s line is fodmap friendly, though.  Also, Rudi’s is one of the more expensive brands at the grocery store.  Any fodmap follower or gluten-free goddess will tell you, though, that for a good slice of bread, it’s worth the price every once in a while!

But, I am writing this because I think Kinnikinnick’s has been getting a bad rap.  It’s one of the cheaper breads out there (about $4.50 for 16 oz. here in MI at Kroger), it’s fodmap friendly, and I really like it!  I bought it innitially to give a lower cost brand a try but now it’s my favorite!  I prefer all my gluten-free bread toasted and when kinnikinnick’s is toasted, it’s nice and meaty and hearty, unlike Rudi’s which seems light and hollow to me.

My lunches on the cold days this week have consisted of toasted kinnikinick’s bread with a tablespoon of peanut butter on each.  It’s nice and warm and hearty on a cold day!

So, if you’ve been wanting to try out some of the cheaper brands of gluten free breads, try Kinnikinick’s.  It is Low Fodmap Friendly and really good!

REMEMBER:  NOT ALL GLUTEN-FREE FOOD IS LOW FODMAP FRIENDLY!  Check the label for molasses, honey, or inulin.  These are high fodmap.

What is your favorite fodmap friendly gluten-free bread?

(photo credit)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Karen permalink
    September 29, 2013 10:52 pm

    I’ve been using Udi’s White Sandwich bread. I like it whether it’s toasted or not. Slices are very small though. I haven’t seen the brand you recommend yet. I’ll keep my eyes peeled for it. NIce blog. Thank you for sharing info and recipes.

Trackbacks

  1. Sauteed Broccoli | Thrifty Kitchen

Leave a Reply

