Skip to content

Ashley’s breakfast oat bars

December 20, 2012

Edited 3-2-2014:

I have made several adaptions to these bars over the years but I have recently enjoyed my adaptions far better than any others.  I updated this recipe today to reflect my favorite (and easiest) way to make these bars.  I find coconut milk to be my go-to milk substitute for these bars.  I have definitely noticed a difference btw coconut milk and almond milk in this recipe.  And, although I experimented with different nut butters, peanut butter remains absolutely essential to these bars tasting good.

My final recipe on here reflects a few priorities:  low fodmap (of course!), low sugar, good fats, as much protein as I can pack in, and great mouth-feel.  I hope you enjoy the updated version!

I literally eat these every single morning.

When I wake up, I need a cup of coffee and something to eat.  Because I am both very tired and very hungry in the morning, I need something that I can grab from the fridge or cupboard and eat right away while I drink my coffee like a zombie in front of the TV.

Those of you on low fodmap know that this is very hard to come by- quick, easy, and good for your gut.  I made these up one day and they meet my needs.  I’ve adapted them over time, but in general I try to keep the recipe full of cheap and low calorie, low fat ingredients.  It ends up turning out like a hybrid muffin, brownie, granola bar… haha.

Depending on what ingredients I have lying around, I will adapt this recipe very freely and it always turns out, it’s just a slightly different texture each time.  Either way, it makes a great quick breakfast with a cup of coffee.

Here is my favorite version:

3 ripe bananas, mashed
12 oz. unsweetened coconut milk (Trader Joe’s has the best price in the dairy aisle!)
2 eggs, beaten
1 1/2 t. vanilla extract
1 t. cinnamon
1 T. truvia sweetener
2 heaping T. rice protein powder (I use plain NutriBiotic  from Whole Foods)
If you don’t have protein powder, you can omit it.  And you can also omit the coconut oil.
1 cup spelt flour (or just anther cup of oats)
5 cups old-fashioned oats
2 T. flaxseed meal
2 T. coconut oil, melted
3 T brown sugar
1 t. salt
1/2 cup creamy peanut butter (I use Skippy Natural)

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees
  2. In your kitchen-aid stand mixer, using the white triangle blade, mix ripe bananas in order to mash them.  Add coconut milk.
  3. In a separate small bowl, mix eggs with a fork.  Add beaten eggs to banana & coconut milk mixture.
  4. With machine running on low: Add vanilla extract, cinnamon, truvia sweetener, and rice protein powder.
  5. Add spelt flour and 2 cups of oats.  Add flaxseed meal, coconut oil, brown sugar, and salt.  Add the last 3 cups of oats.
  6. Add peanut butter.  (Tip: heat peanut butter in the microwave for it to pour smoothly.  Also, when I am pregnant I add homemade walnut butter to add more omega 3’s.  Lastly, for ease of measurement, place mixing bowl on a food scale and zero.  Add aprox. 128 g. of peanut butter to the mixing bowl – most peanut butters are 32 g. for 2 T.)  Mix to combine.
  7. Line a brownie pan with foil and spray with oil. Add batter and spread it evenly.  Batter will be sticky and thick.
  8. Bake at 350 degrees for aprox. 37 minutes
  9. Cut into 2-3 inch squares.  Freeze 2/3 of the batch, refrigerate the other 1/3 that you’ll be eating sooner.  It makes enough for about 2-3 months

(photo credit)

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 2, 2014 10:06 pm

    Reblogged this on Thrifty Kitchen and commented:

    I almost feel embarrassed regarding the first post about these bars. I have changed so many things involved in the making of these bars, I can’t imagine what they used to taste like!

    I updated the recipe today to reflect some major enhancements. I really do enjoy the changes I’ve made and I hope you do too!

Leave a Reply

