Skip to content

Cheesy Quinoa “Mac & Cheese”

June 23, 2012

Cheesy Quinoa “Mac & Cheese”

07/12/12:  I made this today for lunch and it was good!  I made it with kefir I made at home, chives, and a combination of cheddar and colby jack cheese I had on-hand.  I kinda messed up the ratios when I halved it, but even so, it turned out!  I don’t know how often I’ll make it for myself because it does take a little while but it was great for my mac ‘n cheese craving!

Original Recipe Here

Ingredients
  • 1 1/2 cups quinoa, rinsed and drained
  • Optional: Veggies of your choice (low fodmap:broccoli, kale, swiss chard, chives)
  • good pinch of salt
  • a few grinds of seasoning salt
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup rice milk (or any lactose/soy-free alternative)
  • 1 1/2 cups grated Cheddar cheese, more for sprinkling
  • Optional- Crushed Red Pepper, GF Bread crumbs for topping
  • Toppings (optional)- salsa, hot sauce, sour cream, chives, green onion (green part only)
  1. Lightly saute any veggies you would like in this dish.
  2. Cook quinoa to packaged instructions until fully cooked. (About 15 minutes)
  3. Preheat oven to 350 F. Coat 13×9 inch dish( or 8 individual ramekins) with cooking spray.Whisk together eggs and milk in large bowl. Fold in quinoa mixture and cheese. Stir very well and let some of the cheese melt.  Transfer to prepared baking dish and if using GF Bread crumbs add now and bake 30-35 mins, until  crumbs are browned.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

