Skip to content

Gluten & fodmap free Brownies

June 23, 2012

Gluten-free, low fodmap Brownies

No overhaul needed on this one.  I can’t wait to try it!  I love how there is no corn starch because I think I might be intolerant to corn too. =(

Recipe Home

¾ cup coconut oil, at room temperature

4 eggs

1 1/4 cups sugar

½ cup cocoa, sifted (use the good stuff!)

¾ cup potato starch

1 tsp. vanilla

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees and lightly grease 8 x  8 pan.
  • In medium bowl, blend together with electric beater coconut oil and sugar until well blended.
  • Add egg one at a time until all 4 are added.
  • Add in vanilla.
  • Add in cocoa and potato starch until well-blended.
  • Pour into pan and place in preheated oven.
  • Bake for about 45-50 minutes.
  • Enjoy a 2″ x 2″ brownie!  Don’t go overboard

Edit July 2012

I made these today and made a few alterations because of what I had on hand.  It turned out great!  Here is the altered recipe.  I made the changes because I’m “thrifty” (not cheap!) and didn’t want to buy potato startch when I had perfectly good alternatives.  I figured brownies are a pan cookie, so they can take some changes that drop cookies can’t handle and still maintain their shape.

¾ cup coconut oil, at room temperature

4 eggs

3/4 cups brown sugar

8 drops of stevia extract

½ cup high-quality dutch processed cocoa

¾ cup oat flour (oats ground in my food processor)

1 tsp. vanilla

dash of salt

Changes:

I decreased the sugar for health purposes.

I had some stevia extract handed-down to me by my mom (she didn’t like it), so I use it in baking from time to time to supplement sugar.

I like brown sugar better than white, so I thought “why not!”

Kroger has the best price on coconut oil.  You can find it in the Baking isle, the brand I bought is Luann’s.

Here is the nutritional information I used on my “My Fitness Pal” page to track my nutrition.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Stevie permalink
    June 25, 2012 11:31 pm

    How many brownies does this make? Trying to calculate the amount of sugar per brownie for my 6 year old who is on a low FODMAP diet due to Fructose Malabsorption

    • July 15, 2012 3:39 pm

      Hi! Personally, I decided to cut them into 15 servings so that I didn’t go overboard. When you divide the recipe into 15, there are 11 g. of sugar in my altered recipe.

      I poured the batter into a 7 x 11 pyrex glass baking dish because I like my brownies thick. You could also pour them into a 9 x 13.

      “My Fitness Pal” is my favorite place to calculate the nutritional value of recipes.

Trackbacks

  1. Low-Fodmap Recipe Overhaul « Thrifty Kitchen

Leave a Reply

