Skip to content

Go-to Chicken technique

October 27, 2011

What’s for dinner? Chicken. Almost always chicken. And usually I don’t have any clue until 5:15pm what I want to do with it. And I usually have a miscellaneous side. So I saw this go-to technique once when watching a show I like on food network. I use it at least once a week, so I thought I’d share. You can boil it down to 5 simple steps.

(1) Coat Chicken

I like to put a few tablespoons of flour into a cheap galon-size “ziploc” bag, place the chicken inside, SEAL, and shake. This coats the chicken with a layer of either all-purpose or whole wheat flour. Discard the bag when done!

(2) Saute Chicken

Put some olive oil in the skillet (I usually also add some garlic. Italian *points to self*). Saute the chicken on both sides. No need to cook at the way through, you can cook more later. Remove the chicken from the skillet, set aside. (I put it onto a paper plate so I can throw out the paper plate later)

(3) Add veggie

My go-to’s are sliced onions, mushrooms, artichokes. (Occasionally I use broccoli, or green beans.) Brown the veggie, making sure to get plenty of those yummy brown bits onto the veggie.

(4) Add liquid

You can just add chicken broth if you like, but I like to FIRST de-glaze the pan with some wine or lemon juice. Whatever I have in the fridge is good. Scrape up some of those yummy brown bits with the wine. Let it sizzle and cook down for a min. Then, add chicken broth or stock. Put the chicken back into the pan and let it simmer for about 5-10 minutes more. (If you are using broccoli or green beans, remove them once they are al dente)

(5) Reduce the sauce

Remove the chicken from the pan. *Sift* some flour into the sauce and wisk on med, to med-high heat. (Most the time I don’t sift because I’m to lazy to get it out, and I usually just grab a fork to wisk– but be careful to not scrape your skillet!) Cook over heat until the sauce thickens. Pour over chicken. Enjoy!

Surprisenly, Kyle’s favorite dinners are when I do this. And it’s different everytime!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Samantha permalink
    November 5, 2011 1:36 am

    Foolish question: How do you cook with artichokes?

    • November 8, 2011 7:26 pm

      Good question. I should’ve said “already cooked” artichokes. Like marinated ones or canned ones or whatever… Putting them in the skillet really just warms them up and get them to sweep up all the yummy brown bits.

Trackbacks

  1. Go-to Chicken method | Thrifty Kitchen

Leave a Reply

