Skip to content

Homemade Mulling Spices

February 17, 2011

Hot Mulled Wine

I cut a piece of cheese cloth and kitchen twine to enclose the spices so they wouldn’t be a nuisance to remove from the wine later.

Enjoy the mulled wine in a pretty glass!

 

So I got this idea over the holidays when I saw a jar of mulling spices for $10.  In my typical fashion, my immediate reaction was, “uh!  yea right, I could make that for like $2.”  So I took that as a challenge.  I went to my favorite bulk food store in Ann Arbor and bought $2 worth of spices that I figured would be enough to mull some cidar on my own, and give some to a friend.  When all was said in done, I believe I had this in each sachel:

2 small cinnamon sticks

15 whole cloves

1 whole nutmeg, smashed into smaller pieces

15 whole allspice

1  26 oz. bottle of wine (Sweet Traverse Red from Chateau Grand Traverse)

3 packets of Ideal no-calorie sweetener

I’ve also seen recipes that include orange peel, crystalized ginger, and star anise (yuck!).  I poured the bottle of wine into a small saucepan, heat it on medium, and when warm, I added the sachlet.  I let it simmer for about 30 minutes, and ended up yielding about 12 oz. of mulled wine.  You seem to lose a lot of the water from the wine and are left with less liquid than when you started.  Makes sense.  I added some sweetener because I really like sweet, but you can sweeten yours to taste.

I highly recommend it!  I did wine, but you can try cidar, too. =)

If you were to do this for company, I recommend trying it out first.  See how much spice you need for how much wine.  Then, figure out how much spice you need to buy for a much larger bottle of wine.  This is something you need to try at least once on your own to get your taste and style down before serving it to others.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Siew permalink
    June 17, 2011 6:42 pm

    Blog stalk! Just thought of you as my co-workers and I were talking about coupon-ing and decided to check out your blog :). I actually just got some mulling spices from Trader Joe’s a couple months ago after the holiday season ended for about 1-2 bucks per 10 or 12 oz. can. Come winter I want to make some mulled cider. Yum. The end!

    P.S. How’s life?

    • February 15, 2012 5:44 pm

      Haha, yes I do love my coupons! I’ve seen those mulling spices at Trader Joe’s, good to hear they are good! That’s a good price, too! …I just saw the date on your post- how did I not notice it? Life is good! We should do dinner sometime soon!

Leave a Reply

