Skip to content

“Pumpkin” Carrot Soup

September 1, 2010

There’s no pumpkin in this soup.

just a bunch of fiber, protein, & good fat!

I came up with this recipe while attempting to make split pea soup.  Half way through cooking I discovered that I did not have split peas like I thought I did!  So, I adapted it to be more of a sweet potato veggie soup.

When I was all done, it tasted great!  BUT I knew Kyle would not be happy to hear that I expect him to eat Sweet Potato soup, so I took a note from my mother-in-law and decided to call it “Pumpkin Carrot Soup.”  We’ll see how this goes over.  =)

[When Kyle was younger, he hated tomatoes.  So, his mom told him that tomato soup was Pumpkin soup so that he would eat it.  It worked.]

Ingredients:

1/2 T. olive oil

6 cups reduced sodium chicken broth

approx. 2 c. carrot, chopped (I used 3 large carrots)

aprox. 2 c. celery, chopped

3 medium garlic cloves

5 small onions (mine were btw a golf ball & baseball size)

2 sweet potatoes, diced into cubes

1/8 t. dried red pepper (ground or flakes)

1/8 t. dried thyme

1 heaping t. sugar

1/4 c. ideal natural sweetener

1 can pinto beans, rinsed

1/2 cup sour cream

Put all veggies into food processor, process until minced finely.  Heat olive oil in a large stock pot or dutch oven, add veggies to pot.  Cook over medium heat until onions & garlic are translucent.  Add sugar & sweetener, especially if your carrots are a little bitter like mine were. (It also enhances the natural sweetness of the potato).  Add spices.  Add potato and broth.  Simmer for 2 1/2 hours, or until potato can be mushed easily with your cooking utencil.  Reduce heat to low. Lastly, add beans & sour cream, let them heat through.

(You might want to let the soup cool a bit) In batches, add soup mixture to your blender and blend until smooth.  When done blending each batch, pour the puree into storage containers.  Voila!  I think it should taste great with grilled cheese!  (Or croutons & cheese!)

I’m not sure how many cups it yielded, but when I divided the ingredients by 8 servings in my recipe nutrition calculator, here’s what I got (below).  I’m sure this is equal to at least a cup for each serving.

WW Points:  2 points!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

