Skip to content

Sugar-free Candied Walnuts

August 19, 2010

I’ve been working with nuts and popcorn lately more than I ever have before, so it reminded me of this recipe I used to use all the time last summer.  I was trying to find a way to introduce more omega-3’s into my diet, and I had a really hard time eating Walnuts raw, so I gave this a try and LOVED it.  I haven’t made it in a while because nuts are not friendly to a weight watchers diet, but it’s definitely still healthy and tasty!

1 pound walnut halves
1 cup Ideal Natural Sweetener  (EDIT 4/24/12: use table sugar for low-fodmap)
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon salt
6 tablespoons milk

1.    Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Spread nuts in a single layer over a baking sheet. Roast for approximately 8 to 10 minutes, or until the nuts start to turn brown and the smell of roasting nuts fills the kitchen.
2.    Stir together sweetener, cinnamon, salt, and milk in a medium saucepan. Cook over medium-high heat for 8 minutes, or until the mixture reaches the soft ball stage of 236 degrees F (113 degrees C). Remove from heat.
3.    Add walnuts to sugar syrup, and stir to coat well. Spoon nuts onto waxed paper, and immediately separate nuts with a fork. Cool, and store in airtight containers.

[ I remember that I used to add some smart balance butter to the mix.  I don’t remember why, but when I looked at the recipe today I wondered where the butter was… so you could try that if you’d like. I must’ve liked it better that way.]

****EDIT***** 4/24/2012

Low Fodmap Version: use table sugar instead

Leave a Reply

