Skip to content

Granola success!

August 18, 2010

The recipe I made up for homemade granola was great!!!  It didn’t turn out as chunky as I hoped, but I’m sure that won’t be too hard to fix next time.  I used a full 6 cups of oats so I bet if I used only 5 it would have been more chunky.  Next time, I am going to make more binder.  I’ll just have to decide which ingredient to bump up.  I LOVE brown sugar, so maybe it’ll be that one.  …although I image that the maple syrup will help with the stickiness.  Maybe I’ll just add some molasses?  We’ll see.  But for now, I altered the recipe to include some of the changes I made.

All in all, here’s the cost breakdown.  It’s the cheapest granola I’ve seen!

Total cost for ingredients:  $7.32
Yield:  2.77 pounds, or about 11 cups
Price:  $2.64 / lb.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

