Skip to content

Bake a Gift: Homemade Chunky Granola

August 17, 2010

As you can read in my previous post: “Kyle and I had more weddings, graduations, and birthdays to celebrate this year than we expected.  Consequently, we are WAY over our gift budget for the year, so I’ve been dreaming up ways to make our dollar stretch in that area.  I think I’m going to start gifting health-conscious foods to people.  The two front runners I want to try are homemade Biscotti and Granola.  Here are some recipes I found today that I am really curious to try.”

I’ve been doing a lot of reading on what makes a hearty, chunky granola. Growing up, my favorite part of granola was finding big chunks to sink my teeth into!  So, based off of what I read, this is the recipe I’ve written out that I want to try sometime this week.  I’ve been meaning to make my new neighbors downstairs a welcome gift, I think this or the biscotti might be it!


Chunky Homemade Granola

Dry Ingredients:

5-6 cups rolled oats (not quick-cooking oats)

1 cup wheat germ

3/4 cup oat bran

2/3 cups sliced almonds

2/3 cups chopped pecans

2/3 cups chopped walnuts

1 cup flaked coconut

1/2 cup ground flaxseed

Binder

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup maple syrup

1/2 cup honey (more if you like it sweeter)

2/3 cup milk

3/4 cup canola oil (the key to the chunks!)

1 1/4 t. salt

2 1/2 t. cinnamon

Dash of nutmeg or allspice (optional)

2 t. vanilla extract

1 1/2 cup dried cherries (see directions, this is added last)

Let milk sit for 15-20 minutes before starting.  Combine dry ingredients and set aside.  Combine wet ingredients in a small bowl.  Stir wet ingredients onto dry ingredients and stir to thoroughly coat.  Spread into two 9×13 pans, or one large cookie sheet, ungreased.  Bake at 225 for 25 minutes.  Add any dry fruit now, stir.  Switch pan positions in oven.  Bake at 225 for 10 more minutes.  Turn off the oven and let the granola sit for one hour.  Wait until granola has cooled before breaking apart to store.  This will enable the granola to get those nice chunks.  Store in airtight containers for about 1 week (or freeze for longer).

Edited August 18 after a trial on August 17.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

