Skip to content

Freshly picked Banana Peppers

July 26, 2010

This past weekend I visited Coldwater where our friend, Kevin, and his family have a lake home.  While there, his girlfiend Shannon and I visited a local farmer to grab some sweet corn for dinner. (And let me tell you, it was the best corn we had ever tasted!)  While there, I decided to take my pick of her other fresh produce.  So I grabbed some purple onions and banana peppers.  I’ve never made anything with banana peppers, but my grandma has and my family gobbles them right up.  So I’ve seen how they can be done.  I thought I’d give the peppers a try tonight before they weren’t too fresh anymore.
So this is what I came up with and I hope it works!  I made some fresh sourdough earlier today, so I think I might incorporate that.  I’m so excited to give this a try!

5 banana peppers, de-seeded
2 onions, sliced
1 clove garlic
olive oil
salt & pepper
sourdough bread
herb butter

Toast sourdough with garlic butter in the oven for 5-10 minutes.

Cut out seeds from peppers. Place in a roasting pan with the onions.  Sprinkle some minced garlic, olive oil, oregano, salt, and pepper over it.  Roast for 15-20 minutes.

Top sourdough with roasted veggies, top with mozz. cheese, place under broiler to melt cheese.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

