Skip to content

Fast Food & Low Fodmap

February 23, 2013

For my job, I travel a lot.  Mostly, I travel to weekend conferences to Indianapolis.  So, I had to find fast food and restaurants between Ann Arbor & Indianapolis that will be friendly to my low-fodmap diet.  We all know travel makes IBS worse, so it really is important to stick to low fodmap when we travel!  Here are some of my go-to fast food choices.  I admit, they are not as safe as cooking for yourself… but they are the best options I’ve found on the road.  What are your favorite fast food choices?  What tips have you learned for traveling while on low fodmap?

Wendys:

baked potato with sour cream, chives, and sometimes shredded cheese.  Be sure to ask for shredded cheese.  Don’t let them give you that nasty sauce stuff.  Yuck!

French fries

 

 

Qdoba:

 

Naked burrito with rice, NO beans, choice of meat, cheese, sour cream… and guacamole (totally not ok on fodmap b/cof the onions but I can’t say no!)  Feel free to get some corn chips, too.

 

 

Panera:

Chopped Chicken Cobb with Avocado, no dressing.  There is so much on this salad that is full of flavor that you really don’t need the dressing.

 

The chicken technically has onion and garlic powder on it and there is no way to order the chicken plain, but it’s just one of those things where you’ll need to compromise.  Technically, we are not supposed to have a lot of avocado either.  But it’s so yummy!

 

McAlister’s Deli:

I just learned this past weekend that McAlister’s actually has a few great options for us!  And they are all over Indianapolis which is good for me.

Their “spuds” are baked potatoes and you can order them how you like it, free of any fodmapers

They also have a few salads that you could order to suit your low fodmap needs.

 

Just about anywhere you go, you can ask them if they have a gluten free menu because sometimes there are things on that menu that work for us.  Or, by asking you can find out if they have gluten free buns for their burgers, etc.  (Sometimes when I’m in a bind, I’ll just order a burger with no bun.  If they top it with gorgonzola, bacon, or cheese, it’s not bad that way.  Just make sure you ask if their french fries are tossed in flour before they are fried.)
Also, when possible, I try to travel with a small cooler of the basics:  a mini-nalgene of lactose-free milk for my morning coffee, carrots, dark chocolate, greek yogurt, and bananas.  Sometimes I also bring peanut butter, rice cakes or GF bread, tea, and stevia.  I pack storage-size ziplocs full of ice and then I either replace the ice each night at the hotel or I ask the front desk for a refrigerator.  Have you had to travel like this before?

 

What are some of your favorite places to visit while on the road?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2014 4:56 pm

    thanks for this list!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Low Fodmap Foods List | Thrifty Kitchen

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers

